Listen to the Horse

Image

It’s been a month since we met on a windy winter’s Sunday at A Wild Purple Ranch and Retreat west of Tucson to celebrate the Chinese New Year of the Horse. I extended my stay in Arizona specifically to attend this event organized by Qyuun and Dee from Institute for the Shamanic Arts in Tucson. This sacred space in the desert developed by Artist Nancy Newton created the perfect location for our transformational day.
We began by walking the labyrinth of the land following the stone edged paths. Our hearts drew us to her creative sanctuaries along our way out to the fire pit. Gathering dried bits of desert plants created a deeper connection to the land. I felt one with the women who had gone before me gathering twigs in the past to heat their homes and warm their food, the women of wisdom who had supported my time in the desert over the past few years. I made an offering for each piece of this fuel for our fire of transformation. As the fire was being built, I led a chorus of Brooke Medicine Eagle’s fire song, Grandfather Fire Rising Higher from her CD Gathering:The Sacred Breath.
Corona and Bella were perfect horse companions for our drumming journeys. The sound of their hooves and the drum beats created a stairway to heaven with each breath. This buoyant path allowed me the flexibility to move between heaven and earth. I was given a glimpse of heaven. My path was not to stay there, but to bring the light back to create a vibrant life on earth. With horse as my companion I could do this with courage, confidence, and comfort.
Image
Later in the day we moved to a larger arena where Corona and Bella walked curiously around us as we drummed. They made the rounds with each of us as we sat in the open arena. Being in this circle of love was truly a horse heart connection experience.
I shared several circle songs including a new adaptation of my own song “Listen to the Earth” that came through to me in 1994 when I first moved to Idaho. The 2014 version in honor of the horses is:
Listen to the Horse
©Linda Kingsbury

Listen to the Horse
Listen to the Horse
Listen to the Horse
Find your way home.

Follow what she says
Follow what she says
Follow what she says
Bring yourself back home.

Home to the Earth
Home to the Earth
Home to the Earth
Place of your birth.

As you listen to the horse, may your heart expand and your life be filled with joy, success, and a sense of belonging.
